View The Document

Accession Number:



Status Of The Implementation Of The National Health Planning And Resources Development Act Of 1974

Author Organization(s):

Report Date:



In January 1975, the President signed into law the National Health Planning and Resources Development Act of 1974 which-- established areawide and State health planning agencies , statewide health coordinating councils, and regional centers for health planning;-- identified national health priorities; and-- required the Secretary of Health, Education, and Welfare (HEW) to appoint a National Council on Health Planning and Development and to develop guidelines for a national health planning policy. The act's primary goals are to contain health care costs and improve access to quality healthcare. Since enactment of the law, the country has been divided into 205 health service areas, areawide health systems agencies have been designated and are operating in all of there areas, all State health planning agencies have been designated, and regional centers for health planning have been established in each of HEW's 10 regions. GAO reviewed 15 local and 11 State planning agencies: as well as 4 regional planning centers and 4 HEW regional offices, to determine the status of the implementation of the act. It is too early to determine the effect of areawide and State agencies in achieving the objectives of the act.



File Size:




Distribution Statement:

Approved For Public Release

View The Document