Accession Number:



Defense Primer: The Military Departments

Descriptive Note:

[Technical Report, Congressional Report]

Corporate Author:

Congressional Research SVC

Personal Author(s):

Report Date:


Pagination or Media Count:



The three military departments within the Department of Defense DOD, created by the National Security Act of 1947, are the Department of the Army, the Department of the Navy, and the Department of the Air Force P.L. 80-253. A military department prepares and provides strategic, conventional, and special operations forces for military operations conducted by DOD. Each department has an executive headquarters for administering its activities, personnel, and organizations. The type and number of personnel permitted to work in an executive headquarters are limited by law and differ among the three departments.


Subject Categories:

  • Military Forces and Organizations

Distribution Statement:

[A, Approved For Public Release]