Accession Number:



The PLA as Organization v2.0

Descriptive Note:

Technical Report

Corporate Author:

China Aerospace Studies Institute Ft. McNair United States

Personal Author(s):

Report Date:


Pagination or Media Count:



The PLA is composed of three services - the Army PLAA, Navy PLAN and Air Force PLAAF - and an independent arm, the Second Artillery Force PLASAF. The Army has such arms as the infantry, artillery, armor, engineering, communications, anti-chemical warfare and Army aviation, as well as other specialized units. The Navy has such arms as the surface, submarine, naval aviation, coastal defense and Marine Corps, as well as other specialized units. The Air Force has such arms as the aviation, surface-to-air missile and antiaircraft artillery, radar, and airborne, as well as other specialized units. The Second Artillery Force is composed of the strategic missile, conventional missile, and other specialized units. The military area commands theaters of war of the PLA are military organizations set up according to the states administrative divisions, geographical locations, strategic and operational orientations, and operational tasks. Under each military area command are a number of Army combined corps, units of various arms, logistical support units, and provincial or garrison commands. At present, the PLA has seven military area commands, namely, Shenyang, Beijing, Lanzhou, Jinan, Nanjing, Guangzhou and Chengdu.

Subject Categories:

  • Military Forces and Organizations

Distribution Statement: